Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

RadarMenFromTheMoon

I remember as a kid a show on public TV call Matinee at the Bijou.  It was the whole ‘old time’ movie experience, with a cartoon, a newsreel/short, a serial and then a movie.  I always loved the serial, a lifetime love of the Phantom Empire was instilled by that show.  The serials are some of my favorite shorts on MST3K.  I wish there was more Phantom Creeps and Undersea Kingdom.  I wish there was Spy Smasher and other serials on the show as well.

Admittedly, Commando Cody isn’t top shelf serial material.  One of the many ‘rocket men’ Republic had in there serial stable, but like Rocky Jones, I love the corny sincerity of it all.  There was zero research into any of the science.  The effects are crude by even the standards of the day.  But I still find it a heckuvalota fun.

My uncle tells me when he was a kid, you would get a punch card for the serials, and if you made the first 11 chapters, you got into the last one free.

Anyway, I typed right through the premiere episode.  I plan on watching the 3 serials in their entirety, not just the MST3K chapters.  Why?  I can, so, why not.

Watchability: 3 of 5.

Missing the Riffs: 3 of 5.

