Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Image

“He’s dangerous and locks mean nothing to him.”

Another Dallas-area quickie in the grand tradition of The Giant Gila Monster and The Killer Shrews.  That is also the area Larry Buchanan worked in with his subpar remakes too.

For a movie that clocks in at under 60 minutes run time, the SOL still edited a bit of Faust’s escape.

Sometime I don’t know if I can believe the internet, but I’ll pass this along from Marguerite (Laura Matson) Chapman’s IMBD Page: She and actress Myrna Dell are credited for creating the idea of traveling autograph conventions.  Geeks and nerds everywhere owe her a debt of gratitude.  She also has plenty of photos on the net.  She is easily the biggest ‘star’ in this movie.

Ok, Douglas (Joey Faust) Kennedy has more credits.  James (Maj. Paul Krenner) Griffith has even more than that, but that’s not the point.

Much like The Crawling Hand, it seems the production team came up with the cheapest sci-fi gimmick they could think of.  Yet, this is the kind of ‘cheap’ effect that looks cheap without even trying.  Nothing isn’t the same as invisible.

I feel more like I’m watching an episode from an anthology series, not a movie.

We get such a quick sketch of Faust and Krenner, I don’t understand why we have to spend so much time on the backstory of Dr. Ulof (Ivan Triesault).  I’d say the Major and our thief, even Laura, have more intriguing backstories.  Dr. Ulof, well, that story had to be a cliché by that time: the European scientist fleeing his past.

Movies like this are always frustrating: a decent idea but little in the way of execution.  It is like the filmmakers asked the wrong questions.  I want to know more about why Laura is with the Major, what does he have on her?  Faust was betrayed by his wife, and that is ignored until our exit speeches.

I will give the actors credit, they do a pretty decent job of getting ‘beat up’ by an invisible Faust.  As long as Faust isn’t handling anything, it cheapness isn’t too terribly obvious.  But a little thing like the sound of footsteps would have added a layer of detail this movie really needed.

The Major can’t handle one invisible—excuse me—transparent man, how does he think he can control an army of them?  The flaw in this plan is the planner.

Giggle Water.  If I drank, that’s what I’d call it.

One thing I do find believable about this movie: Faust would be that quick to turn on his employer.  It just seems like he didn’t take enough cash to make the robbery worth it.   I also don’t think parking a 1960 Buick Titanic in front of a bank is the best escape plan.

I think the cops in The Little Shop of Horrors are more attentive than the cops in this movie.

A halfway decent fight at the end.  Shame the budget ran out and Faust couldn’t go transparent.

And they all died, the mark of a lazy screenwriter.  Sometimes it makes sense, but mostly it is a way to avoid having to deal with difficult questions.

Watchability: 2 of 5.  Not really worth watching, but no harm can come of it.  A thought or two are evident, but not enough to overcome the errors throughout.

Missing the Riffs: 3 of 5.  The only reason I don’t go lower is the short this movie is paired with on MST3K is so depressing.  Skip the short, I’ll go to 2 of 5 on missing the riffs.

